Biplab Deb expectedly wins Rajya Sabha election by normal margin

By Our Correspondent

Agartala, September 22, 2022

Former chief minister Bipab Kumar Deb, removed from office by the party high command in May this year, has expectedly sailed through the election held today, winning the state’s lone Rajya Sabha seat. The margin of victory for Biplab Deb was 43 in favour and 15 of CPI (M) against. All the BJP MLAs except disqualified Brishaketu Debbarma of IPFT did not cast vote while lone Congress MLA Sudip Roybarman also stayed away from voting because he had not been approached by none of the two candidates , Biplab Kumar Deb and Bhanulal Saha who was in the fray for a token fight.

The election to state’s lone Rajya Sabha seat had been necessitated by the resignation of Dr Manik Saha from the seat in which he had been elected after his appointment to the post of chief minister . After being unceremoniously ousted from the post of chief minister Biplab Deb had lobbied hard with the party’s central leadership for nomination for Rajya Sabha election which was granted by the central leadership. In today’s election BJP ‘Pravari’ Dr Mahesh Sharma and all India general secretary (organization) B.L Santosh were present. After the declaration of results Biplab Deb expressed his thanks and gratitude to prime minister Narendra Modi and all India president of the party J.P.Nadda.

You can post your comments below  
Free Download Avro Keyboard  
Name *  
Email *  
Comments *  
Posted comments
Till now no approved comments is available.