Resentment continues among BJP leaders after selection of Dr Saha as new CM

By Our Correspondent

Agartala, May 14, 2022

After sudden and dramatic political development, Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb submitted his resignation before the Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya on Saturday afternoon and selection leader of legislative party of BJP unanimously elected incumbent state president of the party Dr Manik Saha as new Chief Minister of Tripura, who will take the oath of Sunday morning, the brewing resentment has been continues among leaders of BJP .

Soon after arrival from New Delhi, outgoing Chief Minister Biplab Deb attended a series of meetings with central leaders of BJP and went to the Governor house to tender his resignation as advised by the top leaders of the party.

Then, all MLAs of the party were summoned to the official residence of Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb, where Dr Manik Saha after a proposal from Biplab Deb was unanimously elected as head of the BJP legislative team and they all met the Governor in the evening. During a meeting with the Governor, Dr Manik Saha submitted the ‘letter of BJP legislative team’ and claimed his stake for the government.

Though, outgoing Chief Minister Biplab Deb claimed that all MLAs has unanimously elected Dr Saha as next Chief Minister, but he tried to hide the massive chaos held inside the meeting of BJP’s legislative team in presence of four senior central leaders of the party including union Minister Bhupender Yadav, BJP’s general secretary Vinod Tawde, state in-charge Vinod Sonkar.

After day long political activities it seems everything is not smooth as massive reaction and noisy uproar noticed inside the legislative party meeting in presence of central leaders of the party on Saturday evening.

As Deb proposed the 69-year-old Saha's name in the meeting, Fire Service and Jail Minister Ram Prasad Paul protested, which led to a scuffle among MLAs. Paul also broke a few chairs by shouting against the decision before the situation was calmed.

Paul wanted Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma as the next chief minister of the state, but dissident MLAs claimed that in presence of senior BJP leaders and union minister Bhupender Yadav and party’s national general secretary Vinod Tawde, who were observers for the election of the legislature party leader unilaterally elected new leader of BJP’s legislative party after outgoing Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb proposed his name.

Minister Ram Prasad Paul and MLA Parimal Debbarba speaking with media persons alleged that Rajya Sabha MP Dr Manik Saha has been named as chief minister candidate without any discussion, which has caused grave resentment among the majority of party MLAs .

Openly protesting the imposition of Manik Saha on the basis of a proposal placed by outgoing chief minister Biplab Kumar Deb , the veteran tribal leader and MLA from Ambassa Parimal Debbarma justified the protest demonstration organized by Minister Ram Prasad Paul inside the legislative party meeting. Parimal Debbarma claimed that top leaders of the party have insulted all MLAs as they are defying the opinion of MLAs.

He said that there was no discussion in the legislature party meeting but the proposal to make Manik Saha the chief minister was unilaterally made and passed without any individual opinion . Dr Saha was made the state party president unilaterally and we accepted and then he was made Rajya Sabha MP and we accepted this also ; but how could he as chief minister without taking opinions of MLAs”, said Debbarma.

While, sources said that some dissident MLAs are now camping inside the official residence of Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Varma and meetings are going on to resolve the dispute that arises among few MLAs.

You can post your comments below  
Free Download Avro Keyboard  
Name *  
Email *  
Comments *  
Posted comments
Till now no approved comments is available.