Rural Developement

The State Rural Development Department has been implementing different rural development programmes like Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (MGNREGA), Indira Awas Yojana (IAY), Swarnjayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY), National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM), North East Rural Livelihood Project (NERLP), Tripura State Support Project on Self-Help Groups (TSSPS) etc. through active involvement of Panchayat Raj Institutions and in close co-ordination with the line Departments.
The intended benefits of the schemes have been reached to the deserving target groups, as a result the socio-economic conditions of the rural people have been improved to a large extent which has contributed largly to the empowerment of the vulnerable groups. The active and tangible participation of the vulnerable groups, especially the women, in the process of planning, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of the programme, has been the result of the successful implementation of the schemes.

Swarnjoyanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY)

The SGSY scheme is a modified programme of the earlier IRDP and allied schemes, which became operative from 1st April, 1999 in rural areas of the state. SGSY is a holistic scheme covering all aspects of self-employment such as organisation of the poor into Self-Help Group (SHGs), training, credit, technology, infrastructure and marketing. The scheme is funded by the Centre and State Governments at the ratio of 90:10 and is implemented by District Rural Development Agencies (DRDAs), Panchayat Raj Institutions, Commercial Banks and Regional Rural Bank.

The scheme aims at establishing a large number of micro enterprises in the rural areas. The list of Below Poverty Line (BPL) households identified through BPL census duly approved by Gram Sabhas is the basis for identification of families/ groups for assistance under SGSY.

SGSY scheme is focusing on vulnerable sections of the rural poor. Accordingly, the SC/ST will account for at least 50 percent, women 40 percent and the disabled 3 percent of those assisted.
Source: - RD Department, Tripura.

National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM)

A systematic review of Swarnjayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY) has bought into focus certain shortcomings. As a result, the Government of India restructured SGSY as the National Rural Livelihood Mission (NRLM) after 2012-13. The NRLM to be implemented in a mission mode across the country with a mandate to reach all the poor families for a sustainable livelihood opportunities and also nature them till they come out of poverty with a decent quality of life.

In Tripura, NRLM started its journey during 2013-14. The initial year was a preparatory year for the NRLM in State and fulfilled all mandatory criteria as required for NRLM. The mission is known as Tripura Rural Livelihood Mission (TRLM) in Tripura. The preliminary objective of NRLM/TRLM is to organize the poor women into affinity based Self Help Groups (SHGs) for practicing micro savings micro credit within the group.

About 7,555 functional women SHGs of eight Districts formed during SGSY have registered with NRLM. The NRLM will handhold SHGs in a phased manner alongwith with the revival of old and also for formation of new SHGs. As NRLM will be implemented in a phased manner, therefore, the intensive work has been taken-up in the six blocks of Ambassa, Dumburnagar, Killa, Matabari, Jolaibari and Satchand of the three NRLM Districts  of Dhalai, Gomati and South Tripura.
Source: - RD Department, Tripura.

North East Rural Livelihood Project

The North East Rural Livelihood Project (NERLP) funded by the World Bank is a multi State poverty alleviation project of Ministry of Development of North Eastern Region (DoNER). The project is being controlled by the Regional Project Management Unit (RPMU), Guwahati. The project is being implemented through the District Project Management Units (DPMUs) of NERLP. The DPMUs are under control of RPMU. The Secretary of the State Rural Development is the Nodal Officer for NERLP.

The project development objective is "to improve rural livelihoods especially that of women, unemployed youth and the most disadvantaged in four North Eastern States". The project is being implemented in five districts namely North Tripura, Unakoti, Khowai, West Tripura, Sepahijala from October, 2013.

The NERLP has four major components namely;

1.Social Empowerment: This initiative seeks to empower rural communities by creating sustainable community institutions, improve inclusiveness equity in social, gender and environment.

2.Economic Empowerment: Increase livelihood through diversification of income and employment opportunities by supporting SHGs with investment support, supporting Community Development Plan (CDG), supporting Project Officers for business activities based on value chain and youth for skill development training and their placement.

3.Partnership Development: Development of partnership with various providers including technical support institutions, public and private sector organizations, financial institutions etc. with the aim of dovetailing further resources required for the success of the project.

4.Project Management: This includes governance, implementation, coordination, learning and quality enhancement efforts.

Tripura State Support Project on Self-Help Groups (TSSPS)

The fund received from Government of India under SGSY was not enough to support the Self Help Groups (SHGs) in the State. Considering need, the State Government launched a project to overcome the handle posed by insufficient fund under the SGSY. The SHGs which successfully completed the 1st gradation but could not be provided support under SGSY were assisted with Rs.25,000/- as Government component with 4 percent interest and Rs.25,000/- as bank component of start-up soft loan, totaling to Rs.50,000/-. Based on the fund, the groups can take-up livelihood activities. The SHGs were considered for 2nd gradation after the loan amount is completely repaid.